Workshop affiliated with LICS, as part of FLOC.

DaLí - Dynamic Logic: new trends and applications

Haifa, Israel, 31 July and 1 August 2022


Dynamic logic (DL), a generalisation of the logic of Floyd-Hoare introduced in the 70s by Pratt, is a well-known and particularly powerful way of combining propositions, for capturing static properties of program states, and structured actions, responsible for transitions from a state to another (and typically combined through a Kleene algebra to express sequential, non-deterministic, iterative behaviour of systems), into a formal framework to reason about, and verify, classic imperative programs.

Over time Dynamic logic grew to encompass a family of logics increasingly popular in the verification of computational systems, and able to evolve and adapt to new, and complex validation challenges. In particular, the dynamic logic community is interested in the study of operators that can modify the structure in which they are being evaluated. Examples include dynamic logics tailored to specific programming problems or paradigms (e.g., separation logics to model the evolution of a program heap); languages to reason and represent evolving information (e.g., dynamic epistemic logics); and formalism that aim to model new computing domains, including probabilistic, continuous and quantum computation.

Dynamic logic is not only theoretically relevant, but it also shows enormous practical potential and it is indeed a topic of interest in several scientific venues, from wide-scope software engineering conferences to modal logic specific events. That being said, DaLí is the only event exclusively dedicated to this topic. It is our aim to once again bring together in a single place the heterogeneous community of colleagues which share an interest in Dynamic logic - from Academia to Industry, from Mathematics to Computer Science, - to promote their works, to foster great discussions and new collaborations.

Invited talks

Important dates

  • May 03, 2022 -- May 18th, 2022 (Extended!): Abstract deadline
  • May 10, 2022 -- May 25th, 2022 (Extended!): Full paper deadline
  • June 15, 2022: Author notification
  • TBA: Final version deadline
  • TBA: Special issue invitation

Submissions and publications

Authors are invited to submit original papers (unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere) up to 15 pages in LNCS style. Papers will be published in a Lecture Notes in Computer Science Volume, Springer.

Similarly to previous editions, we are aiming at offering the possibility to publish extended versions of the contributions in a special issue of a journal (details TBA).

Extended abstracts with preliminarily results and work in progress (2-5 pag) are also welcomed for short presentations.

Submissions should be handled with Easychair, following this link.


We invite submissions on the general field of Dynamic Logic, its variants and applications, including, but not restricted to:
  • Dynamic logic, foundations and applications
  • Logics with regular modalities
  • Modal/temporal/epistemic logics
  • Kleene and action algebras and their variants
  • Quantum dynamic logic
  • Coalgebraic modal/dynamic logics
  • Graded and fuzzy dynamic logics
  • Dynamic logics for cyber-physical systems
  • Dynamic epistemic logic
  • Complexity and decidability of variants of dynamic logics and temporal logics
  • Model checking, model generation and theorem proving for dynamic logics


Information about Haifa and the department of Computer Science at the Technion campus is available at LICS, and FLOC.


Details can be found on FLOC's website.


Invited Speakers

Program Committee

  • Thomas Ågotnes (U. Bergen, NO)
  • Natasha Alechina (Utrecht U., NL)
  • Carlos Areces (U. Córdoba, AR)
  • Philippe Balbiani (IRIT, FR)
  • Diana Costa (U. Lisbon, PT)
  • Giovanna D'Agostino (U. Udine, IT)
  • Stéphane Demri (CNRS, FR)
  • Hans van Ditmarsch (Open University, NL)
  • Raul Fervari (U. Córdoba, AR)
  • Sabine Frittella (LIFO, FR)
  • Nina Gierasimczuk (TU Denmark, DK)
  • Rajeev Goré (Vienna U. of Technology, AU and Polish A. of Science, PO)
  • Rolf Hennicker (LMU Munich, DE)
  • Reiner Hähnle (TU Darmstadt, DE)
  • Sophia Knight (U. Minnesota, USA)
  • Clemens Kupke (U. Strathclyde, UK)
  • Stepan Kuznetsov (Steklov Mathematical Institute, RU)
  • Alexandre Madeira (U. Aveiro, PT)
  • Sonia Marin (U. Birmingham, UK)
  • Manuel A. Martins (U. Aveiro, PT)
  • Larry Moss (Indiana University Bloomington, USA)
  • Cláudia Nalon (U. Brasília, BR)
  • Nicola Olivetti (Aix-Marseille U., FR)
  • Eric Pacuit (U. Maryland, USA)
  • Alessandra Palmigiano (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, NL)
  • Vít Punčochář (Czech Academy of Sciences, CZ)
  • Katsuhiko Sano (Hokkaido U., JP)
  • Igor Sedlár (Czech Academy of Sciences, CZ)
  • Rineke Verbrugge (U. Groningen, NL)
  • Frank Wolter (U. Liverpool, UK)
  • Serenella Cerrito (U. d'Evry Val d'Essonne, FR)
  • More TBC

    Steering Committee

    • Alexandru Baltag (U. Amsterdam, NL)
    • Alexandre Madeira (U. Aveiro, PT)
    • Andreas Herzig (IRIT, U. Paul Sabatier, FR)
    • David Harel (The Weizmann Institute of Science, IL)
    • Dexter Kozen (Cornell U., USA)
    • Fenrong Liu (Tsinghua U., CH)
    • Johan van Benthem (U. Amsterdam, NL)
    • Hans van Ditmarsch (Open University, NL)
    • Igor Sedlár (Czech Academy of Sciences, CZ)
    • Luís Soares Barbosa (U. Minho, PT), Chair
    • Manuel Martins (U. Aveiro, PT)
    • Mário Benevides (Federal U. Rio de Janeiro, BR)
    • Nina Gierasimczuk (U. Amsterdam, NL)
    • Sonja Smets (U. Amsterdam, NL)
    • Vaughan Pratt (Stanford U., USA)
    • Program


Authors: C. Areces, D. Costa, chairs of DaLí 2022. Website hosted by Faculty of Sciences, University of Lisbon. Last updated 22/02/2022.